The chance

I woke up that day, ready for another match.

It never came. The week before, I had been sacked from my job as assistant. I’d been there for years. It was all crashing down around me. I would’ve gone crazy if it hadn’t been for this.

The e-mail. My ticket to freedom. I remember it as if it was yesterday. There I was, lying on my bed, when the computer chirped the sound I so loved hearing. Mail. But I didn’t want to read it. I thought it would be one of my mates, saying they were sorry.

Sorry. They probably weren’t sorry. But I read the letter anyway. It wasn’t from Burnley. People had heard. Heard about me getting fired. And they wanted me.

I suddenly forgot all about everyone. Owen, Michael and the rest.

This was my chance. My path to stardom. I said yes.

My tale had begun.

Leave a Reply

